top of page

The Band - Edinburgh Playhouse

Updated: Mar 10, 2023

Last night was the opening night for the pop group, Take That musical - The Band. What a night it was too!

The Band - Edinburgh Playhouse

David Pugh & Dafydd Rogers and Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Mark Owen, Robbie Williams are delighted to announce that Tim Firth’s new musical, THE BAND, with the music of Take That, is performing at Edinburgh Playhouse from Tuesday 10th till Saturday 14th July.

The Cast of The Band ©Matt Crockett

About The Band

The musical based on Take That songs was a seedling of an idea just seven years ago. That idea then flourished into Let it Shine the Saturday prime-time TV competition. Where the public auditioned in front of a live studio audience, to go on and become a member of The Band.

The Band Musical

THE BAND is a new musical about what it’s like to grow up with a boyband. For five 16-year-old friends in 1992, ‘the band’ is everything. 25 years on, we are reunited with the group of friends, now 40-something women, as they try once more to fulfill their dream of meeting their heroes.

THE BAND opened in the city where it all began, Manchester at Manchester Opera House on 8th September 2017 to critical and public acclaim, the advance box office for the tour has now topped a record-breaking £10 million. Making it one of the most successful musical theatre tours ever! After last night's performance, I totally agree. It was nostalgic, and fun, with lots of singing! Taken back in time to 1992 It was a night I will "Never Forget". The storyline was commendable and moving, with lots of great songs by Take That.

THE BAND is directed by Kim Gavin and Jack Ryder, designed by Jon Bausor, and choreographed by Kim Gavin, with lighting design by Patrick Woodroffe, video design by Luke Halls, and sound design by Terry Jardine and Nick Lidster.

THE BAND is produced by David Pugh & Dafydd Rogers and Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Mark Owen, and Robbie Williams.

The musical stars Rachel Lumberg as Rachel, Alison Fitzjohn as Claire, Emily Joyce as Heather, Jayne McKenna as Zoe, AJ Bentley, Nick Carsberg, Curtis T Johns, Yazdan Qafouri, and Sario Solomon, collectively known as Five To Five, winners of BBC’s Let It Shine, as The Band, Faye Christall as Young Rachel, Katy Clayton as Young Heather, Rachelle Diedericks as Debbie, Sarah Kate Howarth as Young Claire, Lauren Jacobs as Young Zoe, Martin Miller as Jeff and Andy Williams as Dave.

Alison Fitzjohn as Claire, Rachel Lumberg as Rachel, Emily Joyce as Heather, and Jayne McKenna as Zoe.

©Matt Crockett

A great night out for the girls or family THE BAND is now on at Edinburgh Playhouse, Greenside Place, Edinburgh until Saturday 14th July 2018. With performances Thursday & Saturday at 7.30 pm, Friday at 5 pm & 8:30 pm, and a Matinee performance taking place on Saturday at 2.30 pm.

To book your ticket for The Band musical visit or call the box office on 0844 871 3018 (fees apply) "It Only Takes A Minute". If you are not in Edinburgh, "Get Ready For it" coming to a place near you.

bottom of page